General Association* - 1776

[ List of signers below ]

A General Association agreed to and subscribed by the Members of the several Committees of the City and County of Albany

PERSUADED that the salvation of the Rights and Liberties of America depends under God on the firm Union of itís Inhabitants, in a Vigorous prosecution of the Measures necessary for itís Safety; and convinced of the of the necessity of preventing the Anarchy and Confusion, which attend a Dissolution of the Powers of Government

We the Freemen, of Freeholders and Inhabitants of the City and County of Albany being greatly Alarmed at the avowed Design of the Ministry, to raise a Revenue in America; and shocked by the bloody Scene now acting in the Massachusetts Bay Do in the most Solemn Manner resolve never to become Slaved; and do associate under all the Ties of Religion, Honour, and Love to our Country, to adopt and endeavour to carry into Execution whatever Measures may be recommended by the Continental Congress, or resolved upon by our Provincial Convention for the purpose of preserving our Constitution, and opposing the Execution of the several Arbitrary and oppressive Acts of the British Parliament until a Reconciliation between Great Britain and America on Constitutional Principles (which we most ardently desire) can be obtained; And that we will in all things follow the Advice of our General Committee respecting the purposes aforesaid, the preservation of Peace and good Order and the safety of Individuals and private Property

John Barclay Chairman
Walter Livingston - na
John Bay
James Magee
Tynans Collins
Isaac Van Aernam
Gisbert Marselis
Phi. P Schuyler
George White - na
John McClung - na
Jo Young
Richard Esselstyn - na
Othniel Gardner
Baret Dyne - na
Abrm Cuyler
Robert McClallen
Henry Wendell
Corns Van Santvoordt
Rr. Bleecker
Henry Bleecker
Gershom Woodworth
Bastejaen T Vischer
Flores Bancker
John Knickerbacker Junr
Barent Vanderpoll
William Vanbergen
John Abbott
Jacobus Williamson
Saml. Van Vechten
Peiter Becker
Ebenezar Allen - na
Simeon Covell - na
Asa Flint - na
James Parrot - na
Henry L. Leake (his mark)
Andries Witbeck
Mat: Visscher
Saml. Stringer
Gerrit Lansing Jur
John Ten Broeck
Robert Yates
Henry I Bogart
John Van Loon
Ab Ten Eyck
Henry Van Veghten
John H Ten Eyck
Jacob Bleecker Junr
Jno J: Beeckman
Hars Wendell
Matthew Adgate - na
Abm: Yates, Junr
John Tayler
Rutger Lansingh but - na
Henry Quackenboss but - na
John M: Beekman
John D Fonda
John Van Rensselaer Jur - na
John Price
Anthony Van Schaick
Dirck Ten Broeck
Reitgert Bronck - na
Friderich Beringer - na
Reynier Van Aslsteyn - na
Philip van veghten
Jpshua Loosee - na
Anthony Van Bergen
Albartus Van Loon
Myndt Roseboom

An Association agreed to and subscribed by the Members if the several Committees of the City & County of Albany

We the Subscribers Inhabitants of the County of Albany and Colony of New York do voluntarily and solemnly engage under all the Ties held scared amongst mankind at risk of our Lives and Fortunes to defend by Arms the united American Colonies against the Hostile attempts of the British Fleets and Armies until the present unhappy Controversy between the two Countries shall be settled.


Document dated February 17, 1776 and printed in The Minutes of the Albany Committee of Correspondence, volume 1, pp. 3-4. Some spelling and punctuation supplied.

NA = not a resident of the city of Albany but of greater Albany County. The other names not linked are mostly non residents of Albany.

Transformed by: JP

first posted: 1/25/07; last updated 12/4/12