Associated Exempts - 1778*

Whearas in and by an Act of the Legislature of the State of New York entitled, an act for Regulating the Militia of the the State of New York, it is Declaired that the Persons under the Age of Fifty five yeares, who have held Cevil or Melitary Commissions, and are not or should not be Reappointed to there Respecktive Rancks of Office, and all other Persons between the age of Fifty and Fifty five yeares who had not associated and Elected their officers and should associate them Selves in the manner in the said act mentioned, Should be Exempted from serving as part of the Enroled Melitia,

We, the Subscribers, do, therefore, in persuance of the said act hereby Promise and Engage, that we will Severally on all occations, obey the orders of our Respective Commanding Officers, and will Severally in case of Invasion [or] Incursions of the Enemy or Insurrections march to repell the Enemy or Suppress Such Insurrections in the Like manner as the Enrolled Melitia are Compelled to do as witness Our hands.

Capt. Corn's Van Santvoordt
Let. David Groesbeeck
2nd {Lt.] Marte Mundertse

Teunis Bradt
Isaac Van Aernam
John Roseboom jur.
Saml Pruyn
Paul Hogstrasser
William Verplanck
Jon. James Abbet
John Cluet, Jun'r.
Anthony E. Bratt
John J: Bleecker
Casparus Pruyn
Jellis Winne
Wouter Deforest
Jno. Van Ness
William Dewitt
R. Visscher
Isaac Verplanck
Hendrick Bogert
Dirck Roseboom
Jacob Cuyler
Richard Lush.

[A slightly different roster including the names below is printed in CP, 4:209]

Anthony E. Bratt (?)
Paul Hogstrasser
Jacob Bleecker
Henry Merselis
Jocghem Js. Staats
Thomas Lansingh
Thomas Barrett
Isaac Freyer
Johannis L. Reddli
B. Visscher(?)
Jonathan Pettet

[Another version including the names below is printed in CP, 4:241]

Capt. Bastejan T. Vischer
Lucas Van Veghten
Johannes Marsselus
Edward Davis
David [his DF mark] Fearo
Willem _____
Abraham L. Witbeck
Peter Levensen
Fraric Reef
Samuel Anthony
First Lt. Derick Heemstrate
Alexander Chesney
Philip Van Vechten
John Van Woert
Simon Van _____
2nd Lt. Chris A. Yates
John Harback
Hendrick Lyker
Staats Van Santvoort
John Tillman, Junr.
Carl Hanstrott
Ewert Van den Bergh
John Pattersson
Jacob D. Fonda
Peter Quackenbos
Abr'm N. Cuyler [perhaps 364 or the initial is incorrect]
Frederik Dampf
Gerrit H. Visscher
Comrade Ruby
Hendrick Gerdener

"Agreed & Entred Nov'r 5th 1778."


Rosters are printed in Clinton Papers 4:10, 209, 241. The text above is found on pp. 9-10. Spellings and punctuation retained but paragraphing supplied.

Individual exemptions for Benjamin Egberts, John Bogert, John Wendell, and other Albany residents are transcribed and printed in CP, 5, pp. 384-85. See also, "An Act for Regulating the Militia," passed April 3, 1778, Laws of the State of New York (Poughkeepsie, 1783), chapter 33. For more on the topic also see The Other Revolutionaries online.

first posted 8/10/05; last revised 3/20/13